BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards 2018

31 de January de 2018

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards, whose eleventh edition is now open, recognize and reward world-class research and artistic creation, prizing contributions of singular impact for their originality and significance. The name of the scheme is intended to denote not only research work that substantially enlarges the scope of our current knowledge – pushing forward the frontiers of the known world – but also the meeting and overlap of different disciplinary areas and the emergence of new fields.

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are undertaken in collaboration with the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC).


  • Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)
  • Biology and Biomedicine
  • Information and Communication Technologies
  • Ecology and Conservation Biology
  • Climate Change
  • Economics, Finance and Management
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Music and Opera

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards consist of 400,000 euros, a diploma and a commemorative artwork in each of their eight categories.


Candidates may be one or more natural persons of any nationality, without limitation of number, that have made independent or convergent contributions to a given advance, whether due to a formal collaboration (with the nominees belonging to one or more groups) or parallel working. The awards are also open to scientific or cultural organizations that can be collectively credited with exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation or the fight against climate change.  

Awards may not be granted posthumously.  


The closing date for submissions is June 28, 2018, at 23.00h GMT.  

Further information and full entry conditions: