Third call Interreg Europe Programme is open

19 de April de 2017


Through its cohesion policy the European Union works to reduce disparities in the levels of development, growth and quality of life in European regions. It promotes actions designed to make the European territory more innovative, more sustainable, and more inclusive. This is the EU policy agenda, called the Europe 2020 strategy.

The Interreg Europe programme, was therefore designed to support policy-learning among the relevant policy organisations with a view to improving the performance of regional development policies and programmes.


The eligible Interreg Europe cooperation area covers the whole territory of the European Union with its 28 Member States, including insular and outermost areas. In addition, Norway and Switzerland are full members of the programme and organisations from these countries are welcome to participate in projects (organisations from Switzerland cannot be lead partners). Partners from other countries can participate at their own costs.


Projects have to involve partners from at least three countries, of which at least two partners must be from EU Member States and financed by the Interreg Europe programme.

Projects are required to involve partners from at least three countries, of which at least two partners must be from EU Member States and financed by the Interreg Europe programme. Based on INTERREG IVC experience, a partnership between 5 to 10 partners (also considering that the same region can be represented by several partners) appears to be the best configuration to ensure efficient interregional learning.


The Interreg Europe programme is divided into four priority axes related to the Europe 2020 strategy:

  • Strengthening research, technological development and innovation
  • Enhancing the competitiveness of SMEs
  • Supporting the shift towards a low-carbon economy in all sectors 
  • Protecting the environment and promoting resource efficiency


The following organisations are eligible to receive ERDF:

  • Public authorities
  • Public law bodies (bodies governed by public law)
  • Private non-profit bodies.


If the relevant authorities are not involved directly as partners in the project, their participation in the cooperation has to be explained in the application form (in section B.2) and a standard letter of support from these authorities must be provided for the participating partners. 

For each policy instrument addressed, a stakeholder group must be created. To increase the chance of achieving policy change, project partners should therefore actively involve relevant stakeholders from their region in the activities of the project.

In line with the overall programme objective, all projects should at least partly focus on the improvement of programmes under the Investment for Growth and Jobs goal, and when relevant under the European Territorial Cooperation goal. Therefore, in each project, at least half of the policy instruments addressed by the EU Interreg Europe .


A specific type of partner called an ‘advisory partner’ can also be involved in projects. But these advisory partners do not address a policy instrument and therefore do not need to develop an action plan. They participate in the project as they offer a particular competence that can facilitate the project’s implementation.


The programme is financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). The total budget for the programme is EUR 359 million: 

EUR 322.4 million is available to co-finance interregional cooperation projects implemented by EU partners. Partners from Norway and Switzerland will be co-financed by national funds from their respective countries.  

EUR 15.3 million is allocated to finance activities carried out by the policy learning platforms. 

EUR 21.3 million for technical assistance.


The third call for proposals opens on 1 March 2017 and closes on 30 June 2017, at 12:00 p.m. (midday)


The application has to be submitted online