Dr Maria Buti joins the IDIVAL Extensive Scientific Council

18 de December de 2019

This Tuesday, December 17, 2019, the incorporation of Dr. Maria Buti to the External Scientific Council of IDIVAL and the dismissal of Dr. Josep María Grinyo was approved in the Board of Trustees of IDIVAL.

Dr. Buti, is head of Hepatology and Internal Medicine at the Vall d'Hebron Hospital, principal investigator of the Hepatic Diseases group of the Vall d'Hebron Research Institute (VHIR) and researcher attached to the Center for Biomedical Research in Disease Network Hepatic and Digestive (CIBERehd). She is currently the Policy Counselor-elected of the EASL (leader of the Committee on Public Health and Political Relations of the European Association for the Study of the Liver) and has been president of the Spanish Association for the Study of the Liver (AEEH) during the years 2017- 2019.

Dr. Buti has published numerous scientific articles in leading journals, such as the New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, Hepatology, Gastroenterology and Journal of Hepatology and has been one of the most cited researchers according to the Clarivate Analytics list. In addition, Dr. Buti has led the studies on new drugs and major clinical trials of hepatitis B and D national and international in recent years and has collaborated as an expert in the Strategic Plan for the Approach of Hepatitis C in the System National Health (2015).

With the incorporation of Dr. Buti to the external scientific council of IDIVAL, the current composition of the External Council of IDIVAL appointed by the Board of Trustees of IDIVAL is as follows:


  • Angel Carracedo Álvarez. Professor of Legal Medicine. University of Santiago de Compostela. IDIS


  • Xosé Ramón Bustelo. Director of the Genomics and Proteomics Unit Cancer Research Center. CSIC-University of Salamanca. Cancer Research Center.
  • Rafael Cantón Moreno. Head of the Microbiology Service of the Ramón y Cajal Hospital. Complutense University of Madrid. IRYCIS
  • Miguel Delgado Rodríguez. Professor of Preventive Medicine and Public Health University of Jaén.
  • Jordi Vila Estapé. Head of Microbiology Service. Clinical hospital of Barcelona. University of Barcelona. CRESIB

  • Miguel López-Botet Arbona. Professor of Immunology, Pompeu Fabra University.
  • Ana María Zubiaga Elordieta. Professor of Genetics of the University of the Basque Country, Faculty of Science and Technology. Head of the Genomics Service of the UPV / EHU.
  • Manuel Elkim Patarroyo. Professor at the National University of Colombia and associate professor at Rockefeller University in New York and the University of Stockholm (Sweden).
  • Maria Luz Martínez-Chantar. Group Leader Researcher. CIC bioGUNE, Derio, Vizcaya.
  • Francisco Sánchez Madrid. Scientific Director of IIS-Princesa, Head of Service and Professor of Immunology. University Hospital of La Princesa, Autonomous University of Madrid.
  • Ana Perez Castillo. Researcher of the Institute of Biomedical Research “Alberto Sols” CSIC-UAM (IIBM) of Madrid.

  • Maria Buti Ferret. Clinical Head of the Hepatology and Internal Medicine Service of Vall d’Hebron University Hospital.